How I Make Fondant!

Even wonder how to make fondant? It’s not as hard as you may think! I made a batch of fondant this afternoon and thought I would share the recipe that I love to use!

What you need:

-One bag of Icing Sugar 1 kg

-Two small bags of mini marsh-mellows 250 g ea (or one large bag)

-2 Tablespoons water

-Crisco

-Oil

-Plastic wrap

-Ziploc bag

Let’s get sticky!…or Started!!

I would strongly recommend removing your jewelry and washing your hand. I also find wearing an apron very helpful because I tend to get icing sugar all over the place!

Step 1: Place the mini marsh-mellows in a large bowl, add 2 Tablespoons of water. Microwave for 2 minutes-in intervals of 30 seconds- Stirring after every 30 seconds.

Step 2: The Marsh-mellows are melted and usually pretty hot, so be careful. Add Icing sugar to the bowl and stir. I also like to add more icing sugar just on top, while it’s still in the bowl. Sorry I don’t measure this out, but refer to the picture.

Step 3: Oil up your counter and pour the sticky- gooey creation on your oiled counter! Then add oil to your hands are knead the fondant for about 20 minutes. Until it has a nice smooth consistency.

Step 4: When you are done, and it looks beautiful and your bag of icing sugar is almost empty. Smooth Crisco all over the fondant. Then wrap it up with plastic wrap- twice. Place it in a ziploc bag and store in your fridge until you are ready to use it!

When you are ready to use the fondant. Take it out of the fridge and let it get to room temperature for a few hours. It’s much easier to work with when it’s room temperature. I also will microwave small amounts for about 10 seconds, if I am not patient enough to wait. Then you can add colour and make beautiful creations! Yay! My favourite part!!!

Hope you found this helpful! Happy Baking!

